The Capital Region of Denmark is managed by 41 politicians elected by the people. All of the 41 politicians are members of the Regional Council - the region's highest governing body. The Chairman of the Regional Council is Sophie Hæstorp Andersen (member of the Danish Social Democrats). Other governing bodies include the executive committee as well as a number of non-permanent committees dealing with various specific areas of interest. The current members of the Regional Council will sit until the end of 2021.